Criminal Domestic Violence Attorney in Columbia, South Carolina
Columbia, SC Attorney Matt Bodman puts experience and resources to work for clients
What is domestic violence?
Domestic violence charges often involve an accusation against a spouse, girlfriend, boyfriend or a household member. Household members can include anyone living in the same house as the person charged with domestic violence. You may be a student who has been charged with domestic violence against a roommate.
Such criminal cases can be very complicated. Often, your case will come down to your word versus someone else. To get justice, you'll need an experienced South Carolina domestic violence defense lawyer with an extraordinary amount of criminal trial experience.
Attorney Matt Bodman has years of experience handling complicated state criminal defense cases involving domestic violence. A former assistant state prosecutor, he knows what questions to ask and what evidence to look for when investigating serious charges filed against a client. Call (866) 487-9077 and schedule a free consultation.
What are different types of domestic violence charges?
Domestic violence charges, which cover a wide range, can be filed against husbands, wives or live-in boyfriends or girlfriends. You can be charged with a domestic violence-related offense if you are suspected of doing any of the following activities:
- Physically assaulting your spouse or another household member
(Charge: Domestic violence)
- Severely assaulting your spouse or another household member
(Domestic violence of a high and aggravated nature)
- Violating a protection order (also known as a restraining order) issued by a judge to not harm or threaten your spouse or another family member
(Violation of a protection order)
What are the penalties for domestic violence?
Penalties vary depending on the severity of the violence and whether the person charged with the crime has been convicted of the same crime in the past. Penalties in South Carolina include:
- Domestic violence
- (First Offense) - $1,000 to $2,500 fine, up to 30 days in jail
- (Second Offense) - $2,000 to $5,000 fine, 30 days to 1 year in jail
- (Third and Subsequent Offenses) - 1 to 5 years in jail
- Domestic violence of a high and aggravated nature - 1 to 10 years in prison
- Violation of a protection order - Up to $500 fine, up to 30 days in jail
What should I do if I'm charged with domestic violence?
Contact us as soon as possible. The longer you wait to contact a lawyer, the harder it typically becomes to build a strong legal case. People's memories often fade fast. You will need your attorney to start interviewing people - and reviewing your arrest report - on your behalf to mount a solid defense.
"My office prepares every case for trial right from the first time I meet with you," Bodman said. "I take this approach because many domestic violence cases can often take time to put together."
"Our goal is simple - to negotiate the best possible outcome on your behalf," Bodman added. "Whether it's having your charges dropped, dismissed, negotiating a plea deal, or going to trial, we will not rest until justice is served. Your best interests come first here."