Criminal Defense Attorney Columbia, South Carolina

Blog

How does an arrest warrant work?

Ever heard the urban legend about a man who was recently arrested on a warrant issued over a decades-old traffic violation? The story goes that for years, the man was unaware that law enforcement was looking for him. It wasn’t until the man was pulled over by police for a minor violation that he learned...

Read More »

The harsh legal consequences of cocaine charges in South Carolina

Of all the states, South Carolina has some of the harshest sentences in the country for cocaine charges. According to a recent analysis of sentencing laws and outcomes by USA Today, no other state sentenced more people for longer sentences over cocaine than South Carolina. In one year, South Carolina sentenced 143 people to prison...

Read More »

Understanding underage drinking charges

Know your legal rights. The drinking age in South Carolina is 21. That sounds simple enough. However, the laws surrounding underage drinking can get much more complex, depending on the situation. To protect your rights, you need to understand what is and isn't illegal. You also need to know what the police are and aren't...

Read More »

Mistakes cops make when making DUI stops & arrests

Police officers are trained to look for drunk drivers, especially during holiday periods, late at night or other times when people are most likely to have been drinking. More specifically, police are trained on how to observe your behavior during a traffic stop and look for enough evidence to make an arrest if they think...

Read More »

What to know about self-defense laws

In South Carolina, you have the right to defend yourself from a violent attacker. There are certain rules that apply that don't grant the right to harm someone who poses a non-violent threat or when violent situations can be diffused. It's important that you understand what protections are available under South Carolina's Protection of Persons...

Read More »

How can my driving under the influence case be thrown out?

If you were just arrested and charged with DUI, you may not be fully aware of your legal rights. A first time DUI charge can be harsh in South Carolina. You could face: 2-30 days in jail A $400 fine A 6-month license suspension Just because you were arrested and charged with DUI, that doesn't...

Read More »

South Carolina Police & Prosecutors Focus On Repeat Offenders

Criminal defense lawyer Matt Bodman reveals what you need to know Being charged and convicted of a criminal charge is a serious legal matter that can dramatically change your life. That’s why South Carolina’s recent efforts to focus on incarcerating people who have previously been convicted of a crime should matter to everyone who respects...

Read More »

What should I do if I'm stopped at a DUI checkpoint this 4th of July?

This year's 4th of July celebration will look eerily different due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Communities across South Carolina have already canceled their fireworks in order to help prevent the spread of the virus. Nonetheless, countless South Carolina residents will celebrate America's independence by congregating with friends and family. Of course, this also means consuming...

Read More »
South Carolina Association of Criminal Defense LawyersSouth Carolina Association of Criminal Defense LawyersSouth Carolina BarSouth Carolina BarSouth Carolina Association for JusticeSouth Carolina Association for JusticeRichland County Bar AssociationRichland County Bar Association2020 Legal Elite of the Midlands2020 Legal Elite of the Midlands